Meow With Me

Ramblings and Thoughts

Cross-Stitch

on November 28, 2011

I’ve started back up with cross stitch projects.  I learned to do this craft more than 20 years ago and I find it to be a very relaxing pastime.  It takes enough concentration for me that I don’t have time to let my mind wander.  It also requires a very rhythmic motion that is somehow very calming.

Right now I’m working on a bell pull for my niece.  It is coming along very quickly.  I started it on Wednesday and now, 5 days later, I’m about 25% of the way complete.  I also started a tea tray insert for myself three weeks ago, but since I want to give the bell pull as a christmas gift, the tea tray insert is sitting on the back burner.  When I started it, I figured that it would take me approximately 12 weeks to complete.  I’ve taken a picture each week to mark my progress and so far, I’m on track for that 12 week goal.

I recently pulled out all my old supplies and leaflets and found a chart for a Monopoly Game board that looks great.  I don’t even remember buying that one!  After I’ve finished the two projects I’m stitching, I plan to start the game board.  I read another bloggers’ posts on her progress of this same chart, and it took her just short of a year to complete.  I figure that is a good measure for me to plan on.  I guess it will be done in early 2013!

I’ve taken several pictures of my current projects – yes, I stitch more than 1 project at a time – but I don’t have any of them loaded onto my computer for uploading.  I’ve also started keeping a digital stitching journal.  I have a program that allows for insertion of pictures, type, audio, video, etc.  I’ve been scouring the internet for pictures of projects that I’d like to work on and this journal is a perfect place for me to save those images and ideas.

Leave a Reply

