Meow With Me

Ramblings and Thoughts

Cross Stitch Update

on December 7, 2011

I started a cross stitch project that I intended for my niece on Thanksgiving day and, two weeks later, I am on the last of four sections.  Originally it was 4 separate pieces, but I’ve decided to complete all four pieces in a vertical wall hanging and I think it’s lovely.  I tried to “copy” a jpeg of the designs, but I don’t know how to copy something from the internet, so until I finish, no pictures!  I haven’t done any of the backstitch, nor have I done the beading, so I still have a bit more to do, but I am more than 50% of the way done.  Since it’s for Christmas, it’s the only project that I’m working on.  I have a couple of other things lined up for after I’ve finished the project for her.

I can’t wait to get back to the Hydrangea Wreath I’ve been working on and I found another pattern that I just *had* to have.  It’s from a company in the UK called Yiota’s Cross Stitch and I immediately had to check my floss stash for my stitching needs.  I bought the skeins that I didn’t already have, I chose a lovely, soft greyish colored aida called Platinum to stitch it on, and as soon as I’ve finished my niece’s project, I’m going to start this one.  I’m excited about this one because it contains no half-stitches and no backstitch.  I ‘m really looking forward to it.  I’ll split my time between the Hydrangea Wreath and the Mixed Daisies until I complete one or both of them.  I remember starting more than one project at a time in the past, so I guess it’s sort of a mania with me.

My progress on the Hydrangea Wreath is shown below, first being the week one picture and second being the week two picture.  I stopped at this point to begin stitching the project for my niece because I intend to gift it at Christmas.

I am amazed at how quickly simple projects approach completion and I’m thankful that I have the ability to create something pretty with only material, colored floss and a needle!

Leave a Reply

